Data

We are interested in how data can be communicated through different kinds of media, how data structures different modes of digital communication, and the effects of data on other socio-economic practices. Our members design different ways to represent data visually, and to encourage ethical participation in the creation of data infrastructure and datasets. We also critique the ways in which algorithms and other kinds of data shape different forms of labour, surveillance, messaging, governance and accountability processes. Finally, our members study how data informs political activism and personal decision-making, as well as the policies of media and other organisations.

Benjamin Bach
Interests:
data visualisation
virtual/mixed reality
human-computer interaction
networks

Benjamin Bach

Data
Design Informatics and Data Science
Digital Design
e: bbach@ed.ac.uk
Laura Cram
Interests:
neuropolitics of political communication
cognitive framing in social media
symbols
identities
trust and emotion in political narrative

Laura Cram

Data
Political Communications
Social Media
e: Laura.Cram@ed.ac.uk
Corentin Curchod
Interests:
algorithms and work
digital economy and government
social media and journalism
digital media
fake news

Corentin Curchod

Data
Journalism
Social Media
e: corentin.curchod@ed.ac.uk
Morgan Currie
Interests:
data activism
data infrastructures
political participation
participatory design

Morgan Currie

Data
Digital Design
Political Communications
e: morgan.currie@ed.ac.uk
Robin Hill
Interests:
human-computer interaction
decision making and explainability
psychology of communication
responses to audiovisual media
data visualisation
neuropolitics

Robin Hill

Data
Digital Design
Political Communications
Social Media
e: r.l.hill@ed.ac.uk
John Lee
Interests:
rich media in learning
graphics in reasoning and learning
computing and cognition in design
multimodal dialogue
informal data

John Lee

Data
Digital Design
Social Media
e: J.Lee@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Liu
Interests:
gender
social movements
women’s political representation
women’s political participation
migration
citizenship
Asian politics
media

Sarah Liu

Data
Journalism
Political Communications
e: sarah.liu@ed.ac.uk
Clare Lllewellyn
Interests:
social media
UGC
biographical data
neuropolitics

Clare Llewellyn

Data
Political Communications
Social Media
e: clare.llewellyn@ed.ac.uk
Ewa Luger
Interests:
human-computer interaction
human-data interaction
intelligible AI
news production
ethics
consent

Ewa Luger

Data
Digital Design
Journalism
e: Ewa.Luger@ed.ac.uk