mash up of network and globes

Digital Global Development

The most important transformations in international development increasingly involve digital technology. As blockchain is now widely used to track funding transmissions and ease migrant remittances, new forms of communication, identification technologies, and digital payment solutions are redefining development practice and people’s experiences of humanitarian governance and finance. Mass information collected about populations – for instance, social network and mobility data from phones – increasingly fuels the targeted development of new products and guides humanitarian assistance in crises. Online work platforms and remote learning opportunities have become ubiquitous, triggering the global spread of digital skills trainings and digital entrepreneurship programmes. 

The Digital Global Development cluster focuses on the role of digital technology in the context of international development and humanitarianism. It aims to build capacity in research collaboration across disciplines at the University of Edinburgh, while generating a fruitful exchange of ideas and research insights internationally.

This cluster is led by Dr Andreas Hackl and Dr Juli Huang.

Digital Refugee Livelihoods and Decent Work - Towards inclusion in a fairer digital economy

The digitization of the world of work is fundamentally transforming how refugees can make a livelihood and obtain employment. A rapidly expanding global digital economy harbours countless new opportunities but it also poses a range of challenges and risks. A new report by the International Labour Organization (ILO) now explores the growing role of digital economies for refugees, including case studies from Asia, Africa, the Middle East, and Europe. Featuring cluster lead Andrea Hackl, this event was held on April 29th 2021, and was jointly organized by the ILO’s Labour Migration Branch (MIGRANT), the Programme Improving Prospects for Host Communities and Forcibly Displaced Persons (PROSPECTS) and the Employment, Labour Markets and Youth Branch (EMPLAB). 

Find out more

Event Recording

hands in a circle

refugeework logo

 

 

Digital Livelihoods studies online work, digital economies, and digital skills training among refugees living in cities. The project seeks to understand the reality of refugee work at a time of digital transformations from a variety of angles: from the lives and work of refugees themselves, but also from the perspective of online work platforms, digital initiatives, and training programmes. 

Our Researchers
Jean-Benoit_Falisse
Interests:
social media activism
mediatised conflict
Great Lakes region
primary healthcare
community governance
data extractivism

Jean-Benoit Falisse

Journalism
Political Communications
Social Media
e: jb.falisse@ed.ac.uk
Andreas Hackl
Interests:
digital economies
refugees
migration
international development
Middle East

Andreas Hackl

e: andreas.hackl@ed.ac.uk
Idil_Galip
Interests:
internet memes
digital culture
digital labour
moderation practices
online communities

Idil Galip

e: igalip@ed.ac.uk
Kevin Donovan
Interests:
digital data
East Africa
surveillance
debt
infrastructure

Kevin Donovan

e: kevin.donovan@gmail.com
George K
Interests:
social media
protest
diaspora
digital publics and counterpublics
Zimbabwe
public
disinformation
social movements
digital cultures
elections

George Karekwaivanane

Political Communications
Social Media
e: G.karekwaivanane@ed.ac.uk
Júlia Fernandez
Interests:
transit migration and asylum
politics of reproduction
medical anthropology
borders
UK migration governance

Júlia Fernandez

e: J.Fernandez-Molina@sms.ed.ac.uk
Juli Huang
Interests:
social enterprise
data economies
international development
anthropology of money
South Asia
anthropology of data
gamified learning
alternative currencies

Juli Huang

e: juli.huang@ed.ac.uk
Zeineb Alsabeehg
Interests:
citizenship
statelessness
Middle East
migration
social movements

Zeineb Alsabeehg

e: z.alsabeehg@ed.ac.uk
Alec Ross
Interests:
forced migration
asylum policy
digital economy
digital livelihoods
labour market access

Alec Ross

e: alec.ross@ed.ac.uk
Maggie_Dwyer
Interests:
social media
security
Africa
peacekeeping

Maggie Dwyer

Social Media
e: M.Dwyer@ed.ac.uk
Michael Gallagher
Interests:
digital education
sub-Saharan Africa
ICT4D
digital futures
participatory methodologies

Michael Gallagher

Digital engagement, learning and participation
Working with digital archives and collections
e: Michael.s.gallagher@ed.ac.uk
Chris Speed
Interests:
design informatics
blockchain
internet of things
prototypes
workshops
design thinking
digital economy

Chris Speed

Data
Design Informatics and Data Science
Digital Design
e: c.speed@ed.ac.uk
David Mesa-Ruiz
Interests:
gender
technology
labour
casual inference
economics

David Mesa-Ruiz

e: s2133118@ed.ac.uk
Isadora_Dullaert
Interests:
digital identity
self-sovereign identity
borders
citizenship
identification

Isadora Dullaert

e: i.a.l.dullaert@sms.ed.ac.uk
Larissa Pschetz
Interests:
inclusive technologies
temporal design
interaction design

Larissa Pschetz

e: l.pschetz@ed.ac.uk