Tourism and Heritage

Our research in this area explores the implications of the digital in shaping and changing the relationships between tourism and heritage, including navigating preservation of and access to cultural heritage, and the role of tourism in producing heritage.

Beatrice Alex
Interests:
text mining
geoparsing
OCR
information extraction

Beatrice Alex

Geospatial data and heritage
Tourism and heritage
Working with digital archives and collections
e: balex@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Moa Carlsson
Interests:
urban political geography
urban history
cultural landscape
geospatial data
critical cartography
GIS

Moa Carlsson

Geospatial data and heritage
Tourism and heritage
Working with digital archives and collections
e: Moa.Carlsson@ed.ac.uk
James Loxley
Interests:
digital mapping
literature
early modern
performance

James Loxley

Digital engagement, learning and participation
Geospatial data and heritage
Tourism and heritage
Working with digital archives and collections
e: James.Loxley@ed.ac.uk
Niamh Moore
Interests:
community archiving
participatory archiving
feminist and queer histories and archives
public history/sociology

Niamh Moore

Digital engagement, learning and participation
Tourism and heritage
Working with digital archives and collections
e: niamh.moore@ed.ac.uk
Gina Reddie
Interests:
curating
social media
mobility
everyday aesthetics
digital culture

Gina Fierlafijn Reddie

Digital engagement, learning and participation
Tourism and heritage
Working with digital archives and collections
e: gina.reddie@ed.ac.uk
Tanja Romankiewicz
Interests:
critical heritage studies
building archaeology
virtual reality
reconstructing the past
visual competence

Tanja Romankiewicz

Digital documentation
Digital engagement, learning and participation
Geospatial data and heritage
Tourism and heritage
e: T.Romankiewicz@ed.ac.uk
Niki Vermeulen
Interests:
scientific heritage
architecture of science
science in the city
Curious Edinburgh
history of science

Niki Vermeulen

Digital engagement, learning and participation
Geospatial data and heritage
Tourism and heritage
e: niki.vermeulen@ed.ac.uk