Geospatial Data and Heritage

We design, develop, investigate and find new uses for geospatial applications and datasets. Geospatial analysis of archives, texts and collections generates new research insights and public engagement opportunities in a wide range of heritage contexts.

Melissa Terras
Interests:
digitisation
heritage science
advanced imaging
workflows
usability studies

Melissa Terras

Copyright, intellectual property, access
Digital documentation
Digital engagement, learning and participation
Geospatial data and heritage
Working with digital archives and collections
Social Media
e: mterras@ed.ac.uk
Beatrice Alex
Interests:
text mining
geoparsing
OCR
information extraction

Beatrice Alex

Geospatial data and heritage
Tourism and heritage
Working with digital archives and collections
e: balex@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Moa Carlsson
Interests:
urban political geography
urban history
cultural landscape
geospatial data
critical cartography
GIS

Moa Carlsson

Geospatial data and heritage
Tourism and heritage
Working with digital archives and collections
e: Moa.Carlsson@ed.ac.uk
Daryl Green
Interests:
book history
collections data
medieval
early modern
provenance

Daryl Green

Digital engagement, learning and participation
Geospatial data and heritage
Working with digital archives and collections
e: daryl.green@ed.ac.uk
Anouk Lang
Interests:
machine learning
word embeddings
natural language processing
digital mapping
network analysis

Anouk Lang

Digital engagement, learning and participation
Geospatial data and heritage
Working with digital archives and collections
e: anouk.lang@ed.ac.uk
Kirsty Lingstadt
Interests:
crowdsourcing
digitisation
collections online

Kirsty Lingstadt

Digital engagement, learning and participation
Geospatial data and heritage
Working with digital archives and collections
e: Kirsty.Lingstadt@ed.ac.uk
James Loxley
Interests:
digital mapping
literature
early modern
performance

James Loxley

Digital engagement, learning and participation
Geospatial data and heritage
Tourism and heritage
Working with digital archives and collections
e: James.Loxley@ed.ac.uk
Tanja Romankiewicz
Interests:
critical heritage studies
building archaeology
virtual reality
reconstructing the past
visual competence

Tanja Romankiewicz

Digital documentation
Digital engagement, learning and participation
Geospatial data and heritage
Tourism and heritage
e: T.Romankiewicz@ed.ac.uk
Niki Vermeulen
Interests:
scientific heritage
architecture of science
science in the city
Curious Edinburgh
history of science

Niki Vermeulen

Digital engagement, learning and participation
Geospatial data and heritage
Tourism and heritage
e: niki.vermeulen@ed.ac.uk