Digital Engagement, Learning and Participation

We research how people engage with digital and digitised cultural heritage; and how digital technologies and tools support new forms of learning, engagement and participation. Our work spans topics and approaches including crowdsourcing, public and participatory history, evaluation and engagement, community archiving and digital education.

Melissa Terras
Interests:
digitisation
heritage science
advanced imaging
workflows
usability studies

Melissa Terras

Copyright, intellectual property, access
Digital documentation
Digital engagement, learning and participation
Geospatial data and heritage
Working with digital archives and collections
Social Media
e: mterras@ed.ac.uk
James Cook
Interests:
music
soundscape
prosopography
virtual reality

James Cook

Digital engagement, learning and participation
Working with digital archives and collections
e: jcook2@ed.ac.uk
Nichola Dobson
Interests:
animation history
archives
education
animation theory
material collections

Nichola Dobson

Digital documentation
Digital engagement, learning and participation
Working with digital archives and collections
e: n.dobson@ed.ac.uk
Kobi Gal
Interests:
artificial intelligence
personalisation
user modeling
education

Kobi Gal

Digital documentation
Digital engagement, learning and participation
e: kgal@inf.ed.ac.uk
Michael Gallagher
Interests:
digital education
sub-Saharan Africa

Michael Gallagher

Digital engagement, learning and participation
Working with digital archives and collections
e: Michael.S.Gallagher@ed.ac.uk
Daryl Green
Interests:
book history
collections data
medieval
early modern
provenance

Daryl Green

Digital engagement, learning and participation
Geospatial data and heritage
Working with digital archives and collections
e: daryl.green@ed.ac.uk
Laura Jeffery
Interests:
safeguarding ICH in protracted displacement

Laura Jeffery

Digital engagement, learning and participation
e: laura.jeffery@ed.ac.uk
Anouk Lang
Interests:
machine learning
word embeddings
natural language processing
digital mapping
network analysis

Anouk Lang

Digital engagement, learning and participation
Geospatial data and heritage
Working with digital archives and collections
e: anouk.lang@ed.ac.uk
Kirsty Lingstadt
Interests:
crowdsourcing
digitisation
collections online

Kirsty Lingstadt

Digital engagement, learning and participation
Geospatial data and heritage
Working with digital archives and collections
e: Kirsty.Lingstadt@ed.ac.uk